Chaperone

On Friday, I chaperoned the middle school winter dance.

One of my students came up to me and said, “Mrs. Koch, I’m glad you’re here!”  Before the delight of being wanted could settle in, though, he continued, “I’m having trouble with the conclusion of my essay.”  (And you’re asking me for help here?  Now?  At a dance?)

When the DJ played “Livin’ On a Prayer,” I sang along, and the students seemed surprised that I knew the words.  (Um, I danced to that song when I was in middle school, friends.)

Finally, a song came on that I just couldn’t help but dance to.  I fully expected the kids to give me sidelong glances and snicker at me.  Instead, they cheered and came over to join me.

I love these kids.  I am blessed to work in this school.

Leave a Reply

