Middle School Humor

In the fall, I was talking to a pre-service teacher who was interviewing me for something — I don’t even remember what.  The young lady mentioned to me a technique one of her English teachers had used when the girl was in high school.  It was so great for middle schoolers that I had to steal it.

I now tell them to PEE in their paragraphs.

P=Point

E=Evidence (or Example)

E=Elaboration (or Explanation)

The idea is to remind them to include details and support for each point they make.  They got a huge kick out of it.  (“I’m going to go home and tell my parents you told me to PEE in my paragraph!”)  Even better is that for their prewriting, I used a graphic organizer called a Hamburger Model.  (The top bun is the introduction, the body paragraphs are the meat of the essay, and the bottom bun is the conclusion.)  So then they loved it when I told them their homework was to PEE in their Hamburgers.

And when state standardized testing came around, oh how they loved the idea of PEEing on their ISTEP tests!

One thought on “Middle School Humor

Leave a Reply

