Remembering to Breathe

I should be used to it by now, but I’m not.  The beginning of the semester has been really rough.  For the entire first week back and school I felt upside-down.  I’ve been a little short-tempered and a little impatient, both with my students and with myself.  It has been hard to get up in the mornings and busy every evening.

I’m taking a graduate course (the first of my Master’s program in curriculum) and there is an absolute truckload of reading to do and I think I’ve already gotten on the professor’s bad side with some of the questions I’ve asked.

Seventh graders are reading The Giver.  More than in previous years, some have already read the book and some have seen the movie, making the risk of having spoilers that much higher.  And I have to figure out how to keep those students — the ones who’ve already read it — engaged.

Eighth graders are reading Romeo and Juliet.  A couple of them are totally getting it, but many (more than usual, it seems) aren’t getting it at all.  Most of them are where I expect them to be, but those on the extreme ends are very vocal, which makes me feel like I’m not doing a great job of meeting all their needs.

The honors students are doing a collaborative project, and it’s brand new curriculum that I’m still in the process of writing, so I’m trying to keep my head above water with that.

Middle School Student Council (I’m a co-sponsor) is having a dance this Friday, and Homecoming for the whole school (K-12) is the week after that.  The middle school is supposed to decorate a stairwell and make a banner for Homecoming, and typically Student Council takes charge of that.

I’m exhausted, and we’ve only been back at school for five days.

I’m feeling a lot like this right now:

21148123-teacher-suffering-from-acute-stress-resting-her-head-on-her-arms-at-her-desk-in-front-of-the-blackbo-stock-photo

Inhale.  Exhale.  I can do this.

Right?

2 thoughts on “Remembering to Breathe

  1. Yes, yes you can! I’m looking around my house & thinking, in less than 2 months all of this STUFF will either be given away, thrown away, or moved into a new house. I just keep reminding myself that as time passes, it will just get done. Somehow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

